NSW to close online wagering loophole (NSW)

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

NEW SOUTH WALES:  The NSW Government will introduce a 10 per cent tax on all wagers placed by NSW residents, regardless of the location of the wagering operator, closing a current loophole in wagering laws. The current NSW wagering tax on racing and sports betting is levied at the physical point of sale and does not capture most online wagering, a part of the industry that has experienced significant growth in recent years. Many online wagering companies are physically located and licenced outside of NSW and have not been required to pay the existing NSW wagering tax paid by other betting operators.